Top 10 Finalists for 2016 Killer Nashville Claymore Awards Announced

Killer Nashville Logo



Nashville, TN. July 26, 2016

Nashville, TN — “Nothing makes the Killer Nashville Claymore Award judges happier than discovering writing gems,” says Killer Nashville founder Clay Stafford. “And that’s what we found in this year’s Top 10 selections. These will be the writers you’ll want to discover for tomorrow.”

The Top 10 2016 Killer Nashville Claymore Awards finalists are:

  • Alicia Anthony (Jeffersonville, Ohio)
  • J. J. Beall (Arlington, Virginia)
  • R. G. Belsky (New York, New York)
  • Patricia James Dusenbury (San Francisco, California)
  • Mercedes King (Pickerington, Ohio)
  • Marlene Kurban (Bristol, Connecticut)
  • Laura Renee Oles (San Marcos, Texas)
  • Peggy O’Neal Peden (Nashville, Tennessee)
  • Roger Toll (Los Angeles, California)
  • S.B. Woodson (Woodbridge, Virginia)

All of these authors blew away Killer Nashville Claymore Award judges (all bestselling and award-winning authors in their own right) and Morgan Elwell, the final judge at Kensington Publishing.

Since 2006, the Killer Nashville organization has been encouraging and discovering new talent in genre writing.

Publisher’s Weekly says Killer Nashville gives “fledgling writers a supportive environment in which to develop their talent” and both Clay Stafford & Killer Nashville play “an essential role in defining which books become bestsellers” throughout “the nation’s book culture.”

Stafford says, “These Top 10 are where you are going to find your next superstars.”

The Killer Nashville Claymore Awards recognize the first fifty pages of an unpublished manuscript. The Top Ten Finalists are introduced to agents, editors, publishers, filmmakers and most find their work published and internationally available within the next two years, if not before. Some even find their work optioned for Hollywood. These are traditionally published books with traditional author advances. These ten authors now find themselves in that exclusive company.

The Top 10 Runner-Ups and the Killer Nashville Claymore Award Winner will be announced in Nashville, Tennessee on August 20, 2016 at the Killer Nashville Guest of Honor and Awards Dinner. In attendance at the ceremony will be bestselling authors Janet Evanovich, Kevin O’Brien, Robert Randisi, Anne Perry, Charles Todd, William Kent Krueger, and more. The public is invited to attend.

Readers are encouraged to come and meet these authors—and others—at all of Killer Nashville’s author-friendly activities. FREE book signings will be ongoing all weekend through Killer Nashville’s bookstore partner Parnassus Books onsite at the Embassy Suites in Cool Springs.

For more information please visit:

Writers may enter their unpublished manuscripts for next year’s awards at

A FREE-TO-THE-PUBLIC online signing schedule and other reader-friendly Parnassus Books-sponsored events are at and

Press Contact:

Chelsea Apple/ (615) 928-246-5105/

Organization Contact:

Killer Nashville,, 615-599-4032,

Killer Nashville | P.O. Box 680759 | Franklin, TN 37068-0750 | 615-599-4032