The Mask of Midnight by Laurie Stevens

The Last Scoop
by R.G. Belsky

Oceanview Publishing
ISBN 978-1608093571
Publication Date: May 5, 2020
*Killer Nashville is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. If you purchase a book from the links on this page, Amazon will give Killer Nashville a small percentage of the total sale. Killer Nashville receives zero compensation from publishers who have been selected for the Book of the Day.

The Last Scoop

Review by Sheila Sobel

In The Last Scoop, the third book in the Clare Carlson Mystery series, Clare is busy as ever with her current responsibilities as the Channel 10 news director. So busy, she has no time to help her old friend, mentor and former editor, Martin Barlow, at a time when he needs it the most—when the now-retired Marty is working on what might very well be his last big scoop. When Marty is murdered not long after their meeting, Clare’s sadness and guilt propel her to continue his quest, to complete the investigation that she suspects got him killed. Clare puts all her Pulitzer-Prize-winning, fact-finding skills to work in a relentless effort to discover the truth—a decades-old truth which leads her to a serial killer more deadly and elusive than any other. While navigating both a political minefield in New York and a thirty-year-old murder in Indiana, problems begin to mount for Clare when nobody believes any of her theories. She needs to dig deeper to exhume the long-buried secrets that will convince everyone, including old flame FBI agent Scott Manning, that she has linked the murders of twenty women killed over a thirty-year period. And, she needs to do it before becoming the latest victim of “The Wanderer.”

With multiple suspects, multiple motives, and a hair-raising ending, The Last Scoop is a must-read. Written with a “ripped-from-the-headlines” authenticity, R. G. Belsky has achieved what most authors aim for—that unputdownable, break-neck, can’t-wait-to-see-what-happens-next kind of novel that leaves you waiting in anticipation for the next book in the series.

Yesterday’s News, the first Clare Carlson book, released in 2018 and won the 2018 David Award for Best Mystery at Deadly Ink. Below the Fold, the second Clare Carlson book, released in 2019.

R.G. Belsky is an award-winning author of crime fiction and a journalist in New York City. Belsky won the 2016 Killer Nashville Claymore Award and previously finished as a finalist for both the Silver Falchion and David awards. As a former managing editor at the Daily News, Belsky has an extensive background in everything news. Learn more:

Sheila Sobel’s debut, Color Blind won the 2017 Killer Nashville Reader’s Choice Award for Best Fiction YA and was a Finalist for the 2017 Silver Falchion Award for Best Fiction YA. Sheila was nominated for the 2016 Allegra Johnson Prize in Novel Writing through UCLA Extension Writers’ Program. Learn more: