2014 Guest of Honor William Kent Krueger

Bestselling author William Kent Krueger
Bestselling author William Kent Krueger

Raised in the Cascade Mountains of Oregon, William Kent Krueger briefly attended Stanford University—before being kicked out for radical activities.  After that, he logged timber, worked construction, tried his hand at free-lance journalism, and eventually ended up researching child development at the University of Minnesota.  He currently makes his living as a full-time author.  He’s been married for over 35 years to a marvelous woman who is an attorney.  He makes his home in St. Paul, a city he dearly loves.

Krueger writes a mystery series set in the north woods of Minnesota.  His protagonist is Cork O’Connor, the former sheriff of Tamarack County and a man of mixed heritage—part Irish and part Ojibwe.  His work has received a number of awards, including the Minnesota Book Award, the Loft-McKnight Fiction Award, the Anthony Award, the Barry Award, and the Friends of American Writers Prize. Northwest Angle (2011) and Trickster’s Point (2012) were New York Times bestsellers.

"Ordinary Grace" by William Kent Krueger
“Ordinary Grace” by William Kent Krueger

A stand-alone novel, Ordinary Grace, was released in March 2013 and also became a New York Times bestseller. The thirteenth book in the Cork O’Connor series, Tamarack County, was release in August 2013.

Clay Stafford, founder of Killer Nashville reviewed Ordinary Grace, click here to read his review.


Bush Artist Fellowship, 1988
Loft-McKnight Fiction Award, 1998
Minnesota Book Award, 1999
Anthony Award for Best First Novel, 1999
Barry Award for Best First Novel, 1999
Friends of American Writers Prize, 1999
Minnesota Book Award, 2002
Readers Choice Award, 2003
Anthony Award for Best Novel, 2005
Anthony Award for Best Novel, 2006
Minnesota Book Award, 2007
Dilys Award (Independent Mystery Booksellers Association), 2008
Lovey Award (Love is Murder Conference), Best PI/Police Procedural category, 2008
Minnesota Book Award, 2008
Northeastern Minnesota Book Award (NEMBA), 2008
Midwest Booksellers Choice Award for Best Fiction, 2013